IEEE Region 10 Women in Engineering (WIE) committee is proud to present the next session of the “We as WIE”, a series of professional development workshops and interactive talks which brings together leaders from various backgrounds to inspire and enlighten our community.

We as WIE: Special Panel
“Diversity & Inclusion for advancing technology – An Interactive Panel with IEEE leaders”

Date: Saturday, 17th September 2022

Time: 9:00 pm – 10:00 pm (SGT GMT+8) / 9:00 am – 10:00 am (New York time GMT-4) 

 (Check your local time here:


  • Opening:
    Emi Yano, IEEE Region 10 WIE Chair
  • Welcome address & IEEE Region 10 Highlights:
    Deepak Mathur, IEEE Region10 Director 2021-22
  • Special Panel: “Diversity & Inclusion for advancing technology – An Interactive Panel with IEEE leaders”
    • Panelists:
      • Dr. Ruth Dyer, IEEE Division II Director
      • Jenifer Castillo, IEEE WIE Chair
      • Prof. Akinori Nishihara, IEEE Region10 Past Director 2021-22
    • Moderator:
      • Dr. Aishwarya Bandla, IEEE R10 WIE Subcommittee Member

Panelists Bio:

Dr. Ruth Dyer, IEEE Division II Director

Ruth A. Dyer is the senior vice provost for academic affairs emeritus and professor of electrical and computer engineering emeritus at Kansas State University. She holds a bachelor’s and a master’s degree in biochemistry from Kansas State University and a Ph.D. in mechanical engineering from the University of Kentucky. She was inducted into the University of Kentucky (UK) College of Engineering Hall of Distinction in April 2013, and currently serves on the UK College of Engineering Dean’s Advisory Council. 

Dr. Dyer is a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and is currently serving as the Junior Past President of the IEEE Instrumentation and Measurement (I&M) Society. She served as the President of the IEEE I&M Society during the calendar years 2016 and 2017, and in various other officer positions of the I&M Society over the past 12 years. She has served on the I&M Administrative Committee (AdCom) since 1999. In 2017, she was appointed to serve on the IEEE TAB AdHoc Committee on Design for Ethics, and in 2018 was appointed to serve on the TAB AdHoc Committee on Contracts and as the Chair of the CRFID Advisory Committee. 

She received the IEEE Instrumentation and Measurement Society’s Distinguished Service Award in 2011.

She also is a Fellow of the Association for Women in Science (AWIS) and is a Senior Member of the Society of Women Engineers (SWE). During the 2003-2004 academic year, she was an American Council on Education (ACE) Fellow and served at The Ohio State University. 

Jenifer Castillo, IEEE WIE Chair

Project Specifications Manager Latin America, at Instrumentation Group, Parker Hannifin Corp. Mechatronics Engineer, graduated from San Buenaventura University in Bogota Colombia. MBA – International Enterprises from the Polytechnic University of Puerto Rico.

IEEE Senior member, being part of IEEE as member and volunteer for 18 years.

IEEE R9 Director Elect 2022-2023, IEEE Women in Engineering (WIE) Global Committee Chair 2021-2022, IEEE Industry Engagement Committee member 2021-2022, IEEE Puerto Rico and Caribbean (PR&C) Section Past-Chair.

Recognized with the IEEE MGA Achievement Award 2020, “For sustained and outstanding achievements in promoting Students, YP, and WIE membership development in Latin America and the Caribbean”, and the Oscar C. Fernández, IEEE Region 9 recognition to the outstanding volunteer in Latin America.

Prof. Akinori Nishihara, IEEE Region10 Past Director 2021-22

Akinori Nishihara received the B.E., M.E., and Dr. Eng. degrees in electronics from Tokyo Institute of Technology in 1973, 1975, and 1978, respectively. Since 1978 he has been with Tokyo Institute of Technology at Department of Physical Electronics, International Cooperation Center for Science and Technology, Center for Research and Development of Educational Technology (CRADLE), and Department of Human System Science. He retired in 2016 and he is Professor Emeritus. He was rehired by the same university at HAPPIER (Human Assets Promotion Program for Innovative Education and Research). Since 2019 he serves as COO of Tokyo Tech Academy for Super Smart Society.

His research interests are in signal processing and educational technology. He published more than 300 technical papers in refereed international journals and conferences.

He received a Best Paper Award of the IEICE in 1999, and IEEE Third Millennium Medal in 2000. He also received Distinguished Service Award for IEEE Student Activities in 2006, Best Teacher Award from Tokyo Institute of Technology in 2009, Best Engineering Teacher Award, Tokyo Institute of Technology in 2014, IEEE Region 10 Outstanding Volunteer Award in 2015, Commendation for Science and Technology by the Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology in 2016, IEICE Excellent Educational Practices Award in 2017, and was selected as Extraordinary Man in 2022 in the IEEE WIE’s 25th Anniversary Celebration.